On Sept. 15, 2017, the Cassini spacecraft will make a fateful plunge into Saturn's atmosphere, ending the mission just one month shy of its 20th launch anniversary. 

Projected Times

Because Saturn is so far from Earth, Cassini will have been gone for about 83 minutes by the time its final signal reaches the Deep Space Network's Canberra station in Australia on Sept. 15, 2017. 

The current predicted time for loss of signal on Earth is 4:55 a.m. PDT (7:55 a.m. EDT) on Sept. 15, 2017. This time may change as Saturn's atmosphere slows Cassini during each of the final orbits.

Times in left column are spacecraft event time, i.e., when the events happen at Saturn. "ERT" (in right column for some entries) refers to Earth received time, which is the time when the spacecraft's signal relaying the event arrives on Earth. After events happen at Saturn, it takes 83 minutes for Cassini's radio signal to reach Earth.

All times are estimates and may change by a few minutes based on the density of Saturn's atmosphere as encountered by the spacecraft in its final five orbits.
Event happens     at Saturn   Signal received on Earth 

Sept 8

   
8:09 pm EDT (5:09 pm PDT) Final dive through the gap between Saturn and the rings (closest approach to Saturn is 1,044 miles, 1,680 kilometers above the cloud tops)  

Sept 9

   
9:07 am EDT (6:07 am PDT) Downlink of data from last Grand Finale dive begins 10:29 am EDT (7:29 am PDT)

Sept 11

   
3:04 pm EDT (12:04 pm PDT) Final, distant Titan flyby (aka, the "goodbye kiss") closest approach (altitude 73,974 miles, 119,049 kilometers above Titan's surface)  

Sept 12

   
1:27 am EDT (10:27 pm PDT - Sept. 11) Apoapse, or farthest point from Saturn in the orbit (800,000 miles, 1.3 million kilometers from Saturn)  
7:56 pm EDT (4:56 pm PDT) Downlink of final Titan data begins
9:19 pm EDT (6:19 pm PDT)

Sept 14

   
3:58 pm EDT (12:58 pm PDT) Scheduled time when the final image will be taken by Cassini's cameras  
4:22 pm EDT (1:22 pm PDT) Spacecraft turns antenna to Earth; communications pass begins for final playback from Cassini's data recorder, including final images. Communications link is continuous from now to end of mission (~14.5 hours) 5:45 pm EDT (2:45 pm PDT)
  Deep Space Network station in Canberra, Australia, takes over tracking Cassini to end of mission 11:15 pm EDT (8:15 pm PDT)

Sept 15 

   
1:08 am EDT (10:08 pm PDT - Sept. 14) High above Saturn, Cassini crosses the orbital distance of Enceladus for the last time  
3:14 am EDT (12:14 am PDT) Spacecraft begins a 5-minute roll to point instrument (INMS) that will sample Saturn's atmosphere and reconfigures systems for real-time data transmission at 27 kilobits per second (3.4 kilobytes per second). Final, real-time relay of data begins  4:37 am EDT 1:37 am PDT
3:22 am EDT (12:22 am PDT) High above Saturn, Cassini crosses the orbital distance of the F ring (outermost of the main rings) for the last time  
6:31 am EDT (3:31 am PDT) Atmospheric entry begins; thrusters firing at 10% of capacity  7:54 am EDT (4:54 am PDT)
6:32 am EDT (3:32 am PDT) Thrusters at 100% of capacity; high-gain antenna begins to point away from Earth, leading to loss of signal  7:55 am EDT (4:55 am PDT)

Pinpointing a Moment

As Cassini heads for its Sept. 15 plunge into Saturn, the mission team will continue to update their predicted time for loss of signal. This is the predicted time during Cassini's dive into Saturn when the spacecraft is expected to begin tumbling due to increasing atmospheric density, permanently severing the spacecraft's radio link with Earth. At this point the spacecraft's mission is over.

The predicted time for loss of signal changes because of effects from Saturn's atmosphere on each of the spacecraft’s final five orbits. On these passes, Cassini dips briefly into Saturn’s upper atmosphere, which causes drag. This drag alters Cassini’s velocity, which in turn affects when the spacecraft will reach Saturn’s atmosphere on the mission’s final day. More drag makes the spacecraft slow down in its orbit, which can move the end-of-mission time slightly earlier, by seconds or even minutes. The time could move forward slightly if the atmosphere turns out to be less dense than expected based on the previous passes.

Cassini’s flight team reviews the trajectory after each pass to see how the spacecraft's course was affected by the atmosphere. They use the new information to update their prediction of how the remaining passes will further alter the trajectory, and from these predictions they generate an updated time for loss of signal.

Final Signal Sent from Saturn
Final Signal Received on Earth

You Might Also Like